• [The Daily] IDA Documentary Award-Winners

    By David Hudson


    The thirty-third IDA Documentary Awards were presented by the International Documentary Association in a ceremony hosted by comedian Maz Jobrani on Saturday night in Los Angeles. Here are all the nominees with the winners in bold.

    Best Feature

    Matthew Heineman’s City of Ghosts
    Antonio Santini and Dan Sickles’s Dina (image above)
    Agnès Varda and JR’s Faces Places
    Dan Lindsay and T. J. Martin’s LA 92
    Yance Ford’s Strong Island

    Best Short

    Laura Checkoway’s Edith+Eddie
    Violeta Ayala and Dan Fallshaw’s The Fight
    Frank Stiefel’s Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405
    Jacob LaMendola’s Long Shot
    Dan Habib’s Mr. Connolly Has ALS
    Patrick Bresnan’s The Rabbit Hunt

    ABC News VideoSource Award

    Mari-Lynn Evans and Jordan Freeman’s Blood on the Mountain
    Tim Golden and Ross McDonnell’s Elián
    Bryan Fogel’s Icarus
    Dan Lindsay and T. J. Martin’s LA 92
    Vanessa Gould’s Obit.

    Best Curated Series Award

    American Experience
    Independent Lens

    Best Limited Series Award

    Daughters of Destiny
    The Defiant Ones
    The Keepers
    The Vietnam War
    TIME: The Kalief Browder Story

    Best Episodic Series Award

    Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown
    Chef’s Table
    Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath
    Planet Earth II

    Best Short Form Series Award

    Field of Vision
    Shorts on Time
    The Guardian documentaries
    The New York Times Op-Docs
    The Secret Life of Muslims

    David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award

    Ray Whitehouse’s Believers
    Maayan Arad’s Chomo
    Jason Hanasik’s How to Make a Pearl
    Joel Fendelman’s Man on Fire
    Priscilla Gonzalez Sainz’s Room 140

    Previously Announced Creative Recognition Award Winners

    Best Cinematography: Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva for Machines
    Best Editing: Bill Morrison for Dawson City: Frozen Time
    Best Music: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin for Brimstone & Glory
    Best Writing: Chico Pereira, Manuel Pereira, and Gabriel Molera for Donkeyote

    The Pare Lorentz Award goes to Marcel Mettelsiefen for Watani: My Homeland with a Special Mention going to Joe Berlinger for Intent to Destroy.

    The IDA presents a Courage Under Fire Award to a filmmaker for “displaying conspicuous bravery in pursuit of the truth. . . . This year the traumatic conflict in Syria which has been documented by several teams of extraordinarily brave filmmakers, and in light of their contributions to the documentary field IDA has decided to honor four filmmaking teams along with the subjects of their films for bringing us the stories of the Syrian war.” And those films are Cries from Syria, Hell on Earth, Last Men in Aleppo, and City of Ghosts.

    More Honorees

    Lourdes Portillo, Career Achievement Award
    Abigail Disney, Amicus Award
    Yance Ford, Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award

    For news and items of interest throughout the day, every day, follow @CriterionDaily.

Leave the first comment