2018 Cinema Eye Honors Nominations

With four each, Viktor Jakovleski’s Brimstone & Glory (image above), Matthew Heineman’s City of Ghosts, and Yance Ford’s Strong Island lead the nominations for the 2018 Cinema Eye Honors, founded in 2007 to “recognize excellence in artistry and craft in nonfiction filmmaking.” The 2018 Honors Awards Ceremony will be held on January 11 at the Museum of the Moving Image in New York. Titles with links will take you to collections of reviews either here or at Critics Round Up.

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking

Feras Fayyad’s Last Men in Aleppo
Yance Ford’s Strong Island
Matthew Heineman’s City of Ghosts
Jonathan Olshefski’s Quest
Agnès Varda and JR’s Faces Places
Frederick Wiseman’s Ex Libris: The New York Public Library

Outstanding Achievement in Direction

Kitty Green, Casting JonBenet
Matthew Heineman, City of Ghosts
Yuri Ancarani, The Challenge
Frederick Wiseman, Ex Libris: The New York Public Library
Agnès Varda and JR, Faces Places
Yance Ford, Strong Island

Outstanding Achievement in Editing

Bill Morrison, Dawson City: Frozen Time
Joe Beshenkovsky, Jane
T. J. Martin, LA 92
Keith Fraase and John Walter, Long Strange Trip
Lindsay Utz, Quest
Francisco Bello, Daniel Garber, and David Barker, The Reagan Show

Outstanding Achievement in Production

Nominees to be Determined, Brimstone & Glory
Matthew Heineman, City of Ghosts
Heino Deckert, Ai Weiwei, and Chin-Chin Yap, Human Flow
Kareem Abeed, Stefan Kloos, and Søren Steen Jespersen, Last Men in Aleppo
Brenda Coughlin, Yoni Golijov, and Laura Poitras, Risk

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography

Tobias von dem Borne, Brimstone & Glory
Yuri Ancarani, Luca Nervegna, and Jonathan Ricquebourg, The Challenge
Andrew Ackerman and Jeff Orlowski, Chasing Coral
TBD, Human Flow
Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva, Machines

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score

Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, Brimstone & Glory
Francesco Fantini and Lorenzo Senni, The Challenge
Alex Somers, Dawson City: Frozen Time
Philip Glass, Jane
Dan Deacon, Rat Film
Hildur Gudnadóttir and Craig Sutherland, Strong Island

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design or Animation

Chad Herschberger, 78/52: Hitchcock’s Shower Scene
Matt Schultz and Shawna Schultz, Chasing Coral
Grant Nellessen, Citizen Jane: Battle for the City
Daniel Gies and Emily Paige, Let There Be Light
Stefan Nadelman, Long Strange Trip

Audience Choice Prize

Abacus: Small Enough to Jail, directed by Steve James
City of Ghosts, Matthew Heineman
Chasing Coral, Jeff Orlowski
Faces Places, Agnès Varda and JR
Jane, Brett Morgen
Kedi, Ceyda Torun
Quest, Jonathan Olshefski
Step, Amanda Lipitz
Whose Streets?, Sabaah Folayan and Damon Davis
The Work, Gethin Aldous and Jairus McLeary

Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film

Viktor Jakovleski, Brimstone & Glory
Anna Zamecka, Communion
Rahul Jain, Machines
Theo Anthony, Rat Film
Yance Ford, Strong Island

Outstanding Achievement in Broadcast Nonfiction Filmmaking

Ava DuVernay’s 13th
Tracy Droz Tragos’s Abortion: Stories Women Tell
Alexis Bloom and Fisher Stevens’s Bright Lights: Starring Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds
Laurent Bouzereau’s Five Came Back
Ryan White’s The Keepers
Kristi Jacobson’s Solitary: Inside Red Onion State Prison

Spotlight Award

Donkeyote, directed by Chico Pereira
An Insignificant Man, Khushboo Ranka and Vinay Shukla
Lots of Kids, a Monkey and a Castle, Gustavo Salmerón
Plastic China, Jiuliang Wang
Stranger in Paradise, Guido Hendrikx
Taste of Cement, Ziad Kalthoum

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking

Edith+Eddie, directed by Laura Checkoway
Heroin(e), Elaine McMillion Sheldon
Little Potato, Wes Hurley and Nathan M. Miller
Polonaise, Agnieszka Elbanowska
The Rabbit Hunt, Patrick Bresnan
Ten Meter Tower, Maximilien Van Aertryck and Axel Danielson

The Unforgettables

A non-competitive list honoring the year’s “most notable and significant nonfiction film subjects”

Chanterelle Sung, Hwei Lin Sung, Jill Sung, Thomas Sung & Vera Sung, Abacus: Small Enough to Jail
Bobbi Jene Smith, Bobbi Jene
Abdalaziz Alhamza, Hamoud Almousa, and Mohamad Almusari, City of Ghosts
Ola Kaczanowska, Communion
Dolores Huerta, Dolores
Dina Buno and Scott Levin, Dina
Agnès Varda, Faces Places
Daje Shelton, For Ahkeem
Dr. Grigory Rodchenkov, Icarus
Dr. Jane Goodall, Jane
Jim Carrey, Jim & Andy: The Great Beyond
Christine’a Rainey, Christopher “Quest” Rainey, PJ Rainey, and William Withers, Quest
Yance Ford, Strong Island
Jennifer Brea, Unrest
Brian, Charles, Chris, Dark Cloud, Kiki, and Vegas, The Work

For news and items of interest throughout the day, every day, follow @CriterionDaily.

You have no items in your shopping cart