Awards: London Critics and More

This weekend was about the Grammys, of course, but it wasn’t all about the Grammys. As Guy Lodge reports for Variety, Martin McDonagh’s Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri “may be proving the most critically divisive of this year’s top Oscar contenders,” but it “united enough opinion to emerge victorious in this year’s London Film Critics’ Circle awards. The dark revenge comedy was named Film of the Year, in addition to two other major wins: Frances McDormand took Actress of the Year honors, while McDonagh was additionally recognized for his peppery screenplay.” The full list of winners:

Film of the Year: Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Director of the Year: Sean Baker, The Florida Project
Actress of the Year: Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Actor of the Year: Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name
Supporting Actress of the Year: Lesley Manville, Phantom Thread
Supporting Actor of the Year: Hugh Grant, Paddington 2
Screenwriter of the Year: Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Foreign Language Film of the Year: Paul Verhoeven’s Elle
Documentary of the Year: Raoul Peck’s I Am Not Your Negro
Technical Achievement of the Year: Dennis Gassner, production design, Blade Runner 2049
British/Irish Film of the Year: Christopher Nolan’s Dunkirk
British/Irish Actress of the Year: Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water,Maudie, and Paddington 2
British/Irish Actor of the Year: Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out
Breakthrough British/Irish Filmmaker of the Year: Francis Lee, God’s Own Country
Young British/Irish Performer of the Year: Harris Dickinson, Beach Rats
British/Irish Short Film of the Year: Dionne Edwards’s We Love Moses
Dilys Powell Award: Kate Winslet

“Penélope Cruz will receive an honorary prize from France’s Academy of Arts and Techniques of Cinema during the 43nd César Awards ceremony, France’s equivalent of the Oscars, on March 2 in Paris.” Elsa Keslassy has more in Variety.

On Friday, the American Cinema Editors announced the winners of its sixty-eighth annual ACE Eddie Awards:

Best Editing Feature Film (Dramatic): Dunkirk, Lee Smith, ACE
Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy): I, Tonya, Tatiana S. Riegel, ACE
Best Edited Animated Feature Film: Coco, Steve Bloom
Best Edited Documentary (Feature): Jane, Joe Beshenkovsky, ACE, Will Znidaric, and Brett Morgen
Best Edited Documentary (Non-Theatrical): Five Came Back, “The Price of Victory,” Will Znidaric
Best Edited Comedy Series for Commercial Television: Black-ish, “Lemons,” John Peter Bernardo and Jamie Pedroza
Best Edited Comedy Series for Non-Commercial Television: Curb Your Enthusiasm, “The Shucker,” Jonathan Corn, ACE
Best Edited Drama Series for Commercial Television: Fargo, “Who Rules the Land of Denial,” Andrew Seklir, ACE
Best Edited Drama Series for Non-Commercial Television: The Handmaid’s Tale, “Offred,” Julian Clarke, ACE and Wendy Hallam Martin
Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television: Genius: Einstein, “Chapter One,” James D. Wilcox
Best Edited Non-Scripted Series: VICE News Tonight, “Charlottesville: Race & Terror,” Tim Clancy, Cameron Dennis, John Chimples, and Denny Thomas
Student Competition Winner: Mariah Zenk, Missouri State University

On Saturday, the Art Directors Guild announced the winners of its twenty-second ADG Awards:

Period Film: The Shape of Water, Production Designer: Paul Denham Austerberry
Contemporary Film: Logan, Production Designer: François Audouy
Fantasy Film: Blade Runner 2049, Production Designer: Dennis Gassner
Animated Film: Coco, Production Designer: Harley Jessup
One-Hour Period or Fantasy Single-Camera Series: Game of Thrones, Production Designer: Deborah Riley
One-Hour Contemporary Single-Camera Series: The Handmaid’s Tale, Production Designer: Julie Berghoff
Television Movie or Limited Series: Black Mirror: USS Calister, Production Designer: Joel Collins
Half Hour Single-Camera Series: Glow, Production Designer: Todd Fjelsted
Multicamera Series: Will & Grace, Production Designer: Glenda Rovello
Short Format: Web Series, Music Video or Commercial: Star Wars: Battlefront II, Production Designer: Jason Edmunds
Variety or Competition Series/Awards or Event Special: Portlandia, Production Designer: Schuyler Telleen

The Motion Picture Sound Editors, in the meantime, have announced the nominations for the sixty-fifth Golden Reel Awards to be presented on February 18.

Tereza Nvotová’s Filthy has won best film and the Innogy Award for the Discovery of the Year at the Czech Critics’ Awards, while Václav Kadrnka has won best director for Little Crusader, reports Denisa Strbova for Film New Europe, where you’ll find the complete list of winners.

For news and items of interest throughout the day, every day, follow @CriterionDaily.

You have no items in your shopping cart