IDA Documentary Awards Nominations

The International Documentary Association has announced the nominees for the thirty-third IDA Documentary Awards as well as the winners of its creative recognition awards. The winners will be honored on December 9.

Best Feature

Matthew Heineman’s City of Ghosts (image above)
Antonio Santini and Dan Sickles’s Dina
Agnès Varda and JR’s Faces Places
Dan Lindsay and T. J. Martin’s LA 92
Yance Ford’s Strong Island

Best Short

Laura Checkoway’s Edith+Eddie
Violeta Ayala and Dan Fallshaw’s The Fight
Frank Stiefel’s Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405
Jacob LaMendola’s Long Shot
Dan Habib’s Mr. Connolly Has ALS
Patrick Bresnan’s The Rabbit Hunt

Creative Recognition Award Winners

Best Cinematography: Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva for Machines
Best Editing: Bill Morrison for Dawson City: Frozen Time
Best Music: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin for Brimstone & Glory
Best Writing: Chico Pereira, Manuel Pereira, and Gabriel Molera for Donkeyote

The Pare Lorentz Award goes to Marcel Mettelsiefen for Watani: My Homeland with a Special Mention going to Joe Berlinger for Intent to Destroy.

IDA presents a Courage Under Fire Award to a filmmaker for “displaying conspicuous bravery in pursuit of the truth. . . . This year the traumatic conflict in Syria which has been documented by several teams of extraordinarily brave filmmakers, and in light of their contributions to the documentary field IDA has decided to honor four filmmaking teams along with the subjects of their films for bringing us the stories of the Syrian war.” And those films are Cries from Syria,Hell on Earth,Last Men in Aleppo, and City of Ghosts.

More Honorees

Lourdes Portillo, Career Achievement Award
Abigail Disney, Amicus Award
Yance Ford, Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award

Previously Announced Nominations

ABC News VideoSource Award

Mari-Lynn Evans and Jordan Freeman’s Blood on the Mountain
Tim Golden and Ross McDonnell’s Elián
Bryan Fogel’s Icarus
Dan Lindsay and T. J. Martin’s LA 92
Vanessa Gould’s Obit.

Best Curated Series Award

American Experience
Independent Lens

Best Limited Series Award

Daughters of Destiny
The Defiant Ones
The Keepers
The Vietnam War
TIME: The Kalief Browder Story

Best Episodic Series Award

Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown
Chef’s Table
Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath
Planet Earth II

Best Short Form Series Award

Field of Vision
Shorts on Time
The Guardian documentaries
The New York Times Op-Docs
The Secret Life of Muslims

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award

Ray Whitehouse’s Believers
Maayan Arad’s Chomo
Jason Hanasik’s How to Make a Pearl
Joel Fendelman’s Man on Fire
Priscilla Gonzalez Sainz’s Room 140

For news and items of interest throughout the day, every day, follow @CriterionDaily.

You have no items in your shopping cart