Cannes 2017: Directors’ Fortnight Awards

The Quinzaine des Réalisateurs, known to most as Directors' Fortnight, a program running parallel to the Cannes Film Festival since 1969, is noncompetitive. Still, a handful of organizations with varying degrees of affiliation present awards on the same evening.

This year’s Art Cinema Award, presented by the Confédération Internationale des Cinémas d’Art et d’Essai (CICAE) and generally considered to be the most prestigious, goes to Chloé Zhao’s The Rider. As with all the films listed here but for the short listed last, click the title for the roundup of reviews and interviews, clips and trailers.

All European titles in the program are eligible for the Europa Cinemas Label Award. This year’s winner is Jonas Carpignano’s A Ciambra.

The SACD Award, presented by the Société des Auteurs et Compositeurs Dramatiques, is going to two films this year, Claire Denis’s Let the Sunshine In and Philippe Garrel’s Lover for a Day.

And the illy Short Film Award goes to Benoît Grimalt’s Back to Genoa City.

Cannes 2017 Index. For news and items of interest throughout the day, every day, follow @CriterionDaily.

You have no items in your shopping cart