Awards: DGA, Annies, and More

Mexico’s “Three Amigos” are quite popular with the Directors Guild of America. Alejandro G. Iñárritu won the award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film in 2015 for Birdman, and then again in 2016 for The Revenant; earlier, in 2013, he won the award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Commercials. Alfonso Cuarón won the Feature Film award in 2014 for Gravity. Damien Chazelle broke the streak last year by winning for La La Land. But last night, it was Guillermo del Toro’s turn, as he picked up the Feature Film award for The Shape of Water.

Also nominated were Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird), Martin McDonagh (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri), Christopher Nolan (Dunkirk) and, Jordan Peele (Get Out). Peele has won the award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in First-Time Feature Film. Other awards presented last night in a ceremony hosted by Judd Apatow include:

  • Dramatic Series: Reed Morano for “Offred,” an episode of The Handmaid’s Tale
  • Comedy Series: Beth McCarthy-Miller, “Chicklet,” Veep
  • Movies for Television and Mini-Series: Jean-Marc Vallée, Big Little Lies
  • Documentary: Matthew Heineman, City of Ghosts

And here’s the full list of winners.

Coco, Pixar’s colorful journey through the Land of the Dead, swept the forty-fifth Annie Awards on Saturday, winning in every category in which it was nominated, picking up eleven trophies overall, including best animated feature,” reports Terry Flores for Variety.Coco also won prizes for direction (Lee Unkrich and Adrian Molina), voice acting (Anthony Gonzalez), animated effects (Shaun Galinak, Dave Hale, Jason Johnston, Carl Kaphan and Keith Daniel Klohn), character animation (John Chun Chiu Lee), character design (Daniel Arriaga, Daniela Strijleva, Greg Dykstra, Alonso Martinez and Zaruhi Galstyan), music (Michael Giacchino, Kristin Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez, Germaine Franco and Adrian Molina), production design (Harley Jessup, Danielle Feinberg, Bryn Imagire, Nathaniel McLaughlin and Ernesto Nemesio), storyboarding (Dean Kelly), writing (Adrian Molina and Matthew Aldrich) and editorial (Steve Bloom, Lee Unkrich, Greg Snyder and Tim Fox).” Flores has the complete list of winners, including Cartoon Saloon and director Nora Twomey’s Best Animated Feature — Independent award for The Breadwinner.

GALECA, the Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics, has named Luca Guadagnino’s Call Me by Your Name Film of the Year. Greta Gerwig wins Director of the Year for Lady Bird, and Jude Dry has the full list of winners at IndieWire.

The Bookshop was named best Spanish film of 2017 at Saturday’s Spanish Film Academy Goya Awards, beating out [Jon Garaño and Aitor Arregi’s] Giant, which had appeared well on its way to the top prize after garnering ten awards earlier in the evening.” Benjamin Jones for the Hollywood Reporter: “Isabel Coixet took the best director award for The Bookshop, the story of a young woman, played by Emily Mortimer, who tries to make a success of the bookstore she opens in a seaside English village.” Jones lists the winners, including Carla Simón, best first-time director for Summer 1993.

“On Wednesday night in Grafenegg, the Austrian Film Academy held its eighth annual awards ceremony, where the prizes in sixteen categories were largely split between two big winners,” reports Marina Richter for Cineuropa. “The debut feature The Best of All Worlds by Adrian Goiginger, who penned the story inspired by true events from his childhood, scooped the Awards for Best Script, Best Director and Best Feature Film . . . Barbara Albert’s 18th-century period drama Mademoiselle Paradis, about a blind pianist called Resi, which was nominated in a record fourteen categories, emerged as the second big winner, with a total of five prizes.”

For news and items of interest throughout the day, every day, follow @CriterionDaily.

You have no items in your shopping cart