• [The Daily] Strong Island Tops Cinema Eye Honors

    By David Hudson


    Yance Ford’s Strong Island, which “mines his intense personal history of growing up on Long Island in the ’80s, with a focus on the murder of his brother and the shockwaves it sent through their entire family,” has won Outstanding Direction, Outstanding Debut, and Outstanding Nonfiction Feature Film at the eleventh annual Cinema Eye Honors. “Ford’s win for Outstanding Direction was also a history-maker: the filmmaker is the first to ever win the award for a debut film,” notes Kate Erbland at IndieWire.

    “At a lunch Wednesday in Manhattan, this year’s Heterodox Award, given to films that provocatively expand the blurry line between fiction and nonfiction, was presented to Sean Baker’s The Florida Project and the Legacy Award was given to Leon Gast for his classic film, When We Were Kings,” adds Bruce Haring at Deadline, and "director Bryan Fogel and producer Dan Cogan were presented with the Hell Yeah Prize for Icarus."

    Below, the complete list of nominees with the winners in bold.

    Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking

    Feras Fayyad’s Last Men in Aleppo
    Yance Ford’s Strong Island
    Matthew Heineman’s City of Ghosts
    Jonathan Olshefski’s Quest
    Agnès Varda and JR’s Faces Places
    Frederick Wiseman’s Ex Libris: The New York Public Library

    Outstanding Achievement in Direction

    Kitty Green, Casting JonBenet
    Matthew Heineman, City of Ghosts
    Yuri Ancarani, The Challenge
    Frederick Wiseman, Ex Libris: The New York Public Library
    Agnès Varda and JR, Faces Places
    Yance Ford, Strong Island

    Outstanding Achievement in Editing

    Bill Morrison, Dawson City: Frozen Time
    Joe Beshenkovsky, Jane
    T. J. Martin, LA 92
    Keith Fraase and John Walter, Long Strange Trip
    Lindsay Utz, Quest
    Francisco Bello, Daniel Garber, and David Barker, The Reagan Show

    Outstanding Achievement in Production

    Nominees to be Determined, Brimstone & Glory
    Matthew Heineman, City of Ghosts
    Heino Deckert, Ai Weiwei, and Chin-Chin Yap, Human Flow
    Kareem Abeed, Stefan Kloos, and Søren Steen Jespersen, Last Men in Aleppo
    Brenda Coughlin, Yoni Golijov, and Laura Poitras, Risk

    Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography

    Tobias von dem Borne, Brimstone & Glory
    Yuri Ancarani, Luca Nervegna, and Jonathan Ricquebourg, The Challenge
    Andrew Ackerman and Jeff Orlowski, Chasing Coral
    TBD, Human Flow
    Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva, Machines

    Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score

    Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, Brimstone & Glory
    Francesco Fantini and Lorenzo Senni, The Challenge
    Alex Somers, Dawson City: Frozen Time
    Philip Glass, Jane
    Dan Deacon, Rat Film
    Hildur Gudnadóttir and Craig Sutherland, Strong Island

    Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design or Animation

    Chad Herschberger, 78/52: Hitchcock’s Shower Scene
    Matt Schultz and Shawna Schultz, Chasing Coral
    Grant Nellessen, Citizen Jane: Battle for the City
    Daniel Gies and Emily Paige, Let There Be Light
    Stefan Nadelman, Long Strange Trip

    Audience Choice Prize

    Abacus: Small Enough to Jail, directed by Steve James
    City of Ghosts, Matthew Heineman
    Chasing Coral, Jeff Orlowski
    Faces Places, Agnès Varda and JR
    Jane, Brett Morgen
    Kedi, Ceyda Torun
    Quest, Jonathan Olshefski
    Step, Amanda Lipitz
    Whose Streets?, Sabaah Folayan and Damon Davis
    The Work, Gethin Aldous and Jairus McLeary

    Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film

    Viktor Jakovleski, Brimstone & Glory
    Anna Zamecka, Communion
    Rahul Jain, Machines
    Theo Anthony, Rat Film
    Yance Ford, Strong Island

    Outstanding Achievement in Broadcast Nonfiction Filmmaking

    Ava DuVernay’s 13th
    Tracy Droz Tragos’s Abortion: Stories Women Tell
    Alexis Bloom and Fisher Stevens’s Bright Lights: Starring Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds
    Laurent Bouzereau’s Five Came Back
    Ryan White’s The Keepers
    Kristi Jacobson’s Solitary: Inside Red Onion State Prison

    Spotlight Award

    Donkeyote, directed by Chico Pereira
    An Insignificant Man, Khushboo Ranka and Vinay Shukla
    Lots of Kids, a Monkey and a Castle, Gustavo Salmerón
    Plastic China, Jiuliang Wang
    Stranger in Paradise, Guido Hendrikx
    Taste of Cement, Ziad Kalthoum

    Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking

    Edith+Eddie, directed by Laura Checkoway
    Heroin(e), Elaine McMillion Sheldon
    Little Potato, Wes Hurley and Nathan M. Miller
    Polonaise, Agnieszka Elbanowska
    The Rabbit Hunt, Patrick Bresnan
    Ten Meter Tower, Maximilien Van Aertryck and Axel Danielson

    The Unforgettables

    A non-competitive list honoring the year’s “most notable and significant nonfiction film subjects”

    Chanterelle Sung, Hwei Lin Sung, Jill Sung, Thomas Sung & Vera Sung, Abacus: Small Enough to Jail
    Bobbi Jene Smith, Bobbi Jene
    Abdalaziz Alhamza, Hamoud Almousa, and Mohamad Almusari, City of Ghosts
    Ola Kaczanowska, Communion
    Dolores Huerta, Dolores
    Dina Buno and Scott Levin, Dina
    Agnès Varda, Faces Places
    Daje Shelton, For Ahkeem
    Dr. Grigory Rodchenkov, Icarus
    Dr. Jane Goodall, Jane
    Jim Carrey, Jim & Andy: The Great Beyond
    Christine’a Rainey, Christopher “Quest” Rainey, PJ Rainey, and William Withers, Quest
    Yance Ford, Strong Island
    Jennifer Brea, Unrest
    Brian, Charles, Chris, Dark Cloud, Kiki, and Vegas, The Work

    For news and items of interest throughout the day, every day, follow @CriterionDaily.

Leave the first comment