The Square Leads EFA Nominations

The European Film Academy and EFA Productions have announced the nominations for the thirtieth European Film Awards, and Ruben Östlund’s The Square, winner of the Palme d’Or at Cannes this year, leads with six. The awards ceremony will take place in Berlin on December 9 and, as always with these lists of nominations, titles with links will take you to collections of reviews either here or at Critics Round Up.

European Film 2017

Robin Campillo’s BPM (Beats Per Minute)
Ildikó Enyedi’s On Body and Soul
Aki Kaurismäki’s The Other Side of Hope
Ruben Östlund’s The Square
Andrey Zvyagintsev’s Loveless

European Comedy 2017

Ruben Östlund’s The Square
Christophe van Rompaey’s Vincent and the End of the World
Simon Verhoeven’s Welcome to Germany
Jessica Woodworth and Peter Brosens’s King of the Belgians

European Documentary 2017

Guido Hendrikx’s Stranger in Paradise
Tonislav Hristov’s The Good Postman
Sergei Loznitsa’s Austerlitz
Lucija Stojevic’s La Chana
Anna Zamecka’s Communion

European Director 2017

Ildikó Enyedi, On Body and Soul
Aki Kaurismäki, The Other Side of Hope
Yorgos Lanthimos, The Killing of a Sacred Deer
Ruben Östlund, The Square
Andrey Zvyagintsev, Loveless

European Actor 2017

Claes Bang, The Square
Colin Farrell, The Killing of a Sacred Deer
Josef Hader, Stefan Zweig - Farewell to Europe
Nahuel Pérez Biscayart, BPM (Beats Per Minute)
Jean-Louis Trintignant, Happy End

European Actress 2017

Paula Beer, Frantz
Juliette Binoche, Bright Sunshine In
Alexandra Borbély, On Body and Soul
Isabelle Huppert, Happy End
Florence Pugh, Lady Macbeth

European Screenwriter 2017

Ildikó Enyedi for On Body and Soul
Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou for The Killing of a Sacred Deer
Oleg Negin and Andrey Zvyagintsev for Loveless
Ruben Östlund for The Square
François Ozon for Frantz

European Discovery: Prix FIPRESCI

Hubert Charuel’s Bloody Milk
William Oldroyd’s Lady Macbeth
Ralitza Petrova’s Godless
Carla Simón’s Summer 1993
Ronny Trocker’s The Eremites

European Animated Feature

Arthur de Pins and Alexis Ducord’s Zombillenium
Dorota Kobiela and Hugh Welchman’s Loving Vincent
Jean-François Laguionie’s Louise by the Shore
Roger Mainwood’s Ethel & Ernest

European Short Film

Gabriel Abrantes’s The Artificial Humors
Reka Bucsi’s Love
Céline Devaux’s You Will Be Fine
Nikita Diakur’s Ugly
Laura Ferrés’s The Disinherited
Matteo Gariglio’s En La Boca
Juanjo Giménez’s Timecode
Andrea Harkin’s The Party
Jannis Lenz’s Wannabe
Christos Massalas’s Copa-Loca
Loukianos Moshonas’s Young Men at Their Window
Adrian Silisteanu’s Written/Unwritten
Rûken Tekes’s The Circle
Simon Vahlne’s Fight on a Swedish Beach!!
Daniel van der Velden and Vinca Kruk’s Information Skies

For news and items of interest throughout the day, every day, follow @CriterionDaily.

You have no items in your shopping cart