Ingmar Bergman:  Four Masterworks

Ingmar Bergman:
Four Masterworks

Ingmar Bergman:  Four Masterworks (Criterion DVD)

DVD Collector's Set

4 Discs

SRP: $99.95

Criterion Store price:$79.96

Collector's Set Info

Legendary auteur Ingmar Bergman (1918-2007) emerged in the 1950s as an art-house icon and remained one for more than four decades. Here, together in one box set, Criterion presents four of the unforgettable works that helped establish his international preeminence.
NOTE: This box set includes Criterion’s original 1999 release of The Seventh Seal, not the reissued 2009 edition.

Collector’s Set Includes

The Seventh Seal box cover

The Seventh Seal

Ingmar Bergman 1957

Much studied, imitated, even parodied, but never outdone, Bergman’s stunning allegory of man’s search for meaning was one of the benchmark foreign imports of America’s 1950s art house heyday, pushing cinema’s boundaries and ushering in a new era of moviegoing.

Smiles of a Summer Night box cover

Smiles of a Summer Night

Ingmar Bergman 1955

In turn-of-the-century Sweden, four men and four women attempt to navigate the laws of attraction. During a weekend in the country, the women collude to force the men’s hands in matters of the heart.

Wild Strawberries box cover

Wild Strawberries

Ingmar Bergman 1957

Traveling to accept an honorary degree, Professor Isak Borg—masterfully played by veteran director Victor Sjöström—is forced to face his past, come to terms with his faults, and make peace with the inevitability of his approaching death.

The Virgin Spring box cover

The Virgin Spring

Ingmar Bergman 1960

Winner of the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film, Ingmar Bergman’s The Virgin Spring is a harrowing tale of faith, revenge, and savagery in medieval Sweden.


Log in to your account